Home Career & Education

Tips for beginner props artist

diartik
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
diartik polycounter lvl 2
Hello polycount members

I want to be a prop artist. That’s why I am trying to make models of environment. I have been doing  3D for a year but I don’t see any progress in my work. My models are simple and don’t look good. 

I just want to ask you for an advice. What should I do? What should I learn and what way to choose? Maybe I need to pay attention to something. 

Thank you 

Here is my profile with models:
https://www.artstation.com/diartik

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Learn about boolean modeling and midpoly modeling.
  • Nick_Medukha
    Offline / Send Message
    Nick_Medukha polygon
    Im not a pro but here is my advice:

First of all I love that you pay attention to the details, "you are not alone" on the compass, 8 ball on the ump - thats good
    Compass - inner part with "rose of winds" is very boring in comparison with other parts. Green paint in marmoset is too green, steel also needs to be darker a bit, cause paint scratches allow metal oxydation

Wheelbarrow - Dirt on wheel doesn't look realistic, textures are a bit stretched. Metal part looks like concrete, not metal. Wheel lacks of protector (maybe it doesn't have one, but would be much cooler if it had). Green paint must be peeled off.

I can suggest you the same that good guys on polycount told me once. Make a story. If your wheelbarrow was used when you helped your family in your summerhouse or smth - add some country-side tools, shovel for example. If you where planting veggies - add some soil, some additives, a watering can or something. Make it tell a story. It doesn't need to be a full environment set or game level, just add some props to answer as many as possible of the 5W questions:
    • Who is it about?
    • What happened?
    • When did it take place?