Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need help getting references

Hello, I'm Sam and i'm quite new to character modelling, however I've become quite interested in doing while at university. The only  problem i am having is being able to get references for example if i wanted to create a concept model of pokemon, digimon, etc. I dont know how to start would someone be able to help me?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    So you want to do concept SCULPTS of Pokemon-LIKE characters?

Have you tried Google for references, @TwistedSwordz or is that not providing the EXACT thing you want?

There is also Artstation.com, an concentrated image site for entertainment design focused art.
  • TwistedSwordz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah and i was looking on google but its not providing the exact thing i want to be able to use it. I was told that if the references weren't there then ill have to draw out what is needed but i didnt know if they was 100% true.  Oh, i will try that website. Thanks. 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What search terms are you using?  Does your university have a librarian that can help you with learning how to do research?
  • Domslice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Domslice polycounter lvl 8
    Hello, I'm Sam and i'm quite new to character modelling, however I've become quite interested in doing while at university. The only  problem i am having is being able to get references for example if i wanted to create a concept model of pokemon, digimon, etc. I dont know how to start would someone be able to help me?
    Welcome Sam to Polycount and the wonderful world of 3D!

Are you taking any formal education right now? You should definitely head over to that area of the forums and the Wiki to adsorb as much as you can.