Home Technical Talk

Why did I switched to Linux ? [ What You Need To Know ! A Game Artist perspective ]

{Important Stuff Below The Picture}

( Picture from VinceHardy.com)

Intro

Hi! I'm T.F, a Game 3D Artist. This is a little guide (explanations) on what do you need to know about Linux for Art & Game Development ! Basically as I grew tired of MS Win10 for different reason's like the poor resource management usage which is awful when you understand how powerful your hardware is actually capable of. As well as the fact that Windows 10 is a Bloated OS which is in not really optimized for performance when it comes down to dealing with highly resource heavy software's ( Heavy 3D files, Data Compression, others... ) Yes, someone can make the point that Windows is more efficient when it comes to gaming performance and I approve that fact. Linux OpenGL drivers still have some way to go. Nonetheless as a developer, I always had better overall performances while using professional software's on a Linux system, where stability was usually way higher.... That being said, I decided to (again) make the switch to Linux. Since I am a game artist, I was always kept back from completely switching to Linux due to the lack of professional software's support ( Or is it really ? ). Let's take a better look at it.

The Software's

As most of the software I currently uses have Linux support ( Substance Suite, Blender, Maya, Unreal Engine 4, <- Now uses Vulkan API by default ). Many other great tools are also supported, like Modo, Houdini, Unity, 3dCoat, Mari.

As for the unsupported ones : Adobe suite, Zbrush, 3DS Max, Fusion 360, Moi3d. C4D, LightWave. Thus it is not completely loss.