Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Harley Gresham

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
HarleyG polycounter lvl 2
Hello everyone, my name is Harley, I am an environment artist living in Tokyo. I'm trying to break into the industry. This is where I will post weekly updates on what I'm learning, and trying to improve on.

My portfolio is available here: artstation.com/harleygresham

Critiques are super welcome! Please feel free to give your input, good or bad. :smiley:

Replies

• HarleyG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    December 25th - Merry Christmas to me.

This is for my Shrine project, which is a small environment in Unreal Engine 4. I'm taking some of the work I did for my unfinished Feudal Japan Artstation project and down-scoping to something more achievable! Should be fun.

Please excuse the roughness. Just a blockin using some older meshes.

• HarleyG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    December 26th - More blockout work.

This time thinking about the original concept, it had water in it, so I might incorporate some water somehow.

• HarleyG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    December 29th - More blockout

Hmm. Playing around with having running water instead of a set body of water. Of course, I'm not sure exactly how I'll fill in the edges of the environment. I have to keep playing with this. For now, I like the direction it is heading in.

• HarleyG
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1st January 2019 - Blockout (final?)

I think this starting to really take shape.The overall layout is similar, but the changes to a flowing river/stream give the scene some nice focus and also introduces some movement to an otherwise static scene. I've also been thinking about where to place cameras to best show off the environment, so I've been learning more about composition and shape language. Really interesting so far.