Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP][UE4] Cat in the Rain (Town Square Environment)

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
rexo12 interpolator
Hey, thought i'd start one of these up for my Major Project, assessed in about 12 months time. Aim is to get cumulative feedback on what I'm doing, as well as forcing myself to keep a progress log (one of the requirements of the project). Hopefully I can keep this updated, but i'm always a bit slack about it.

Basic proposal is a small-medium sized environment adapted from an area described in Ernest Hemingway's "A Cat in the Rain" - Essentially a dreary inter-war town square in northern France. There'll be 5-6 areas of interest, where i'll showcase a hero prop of some sort and a little static scenario. As it stands, i'm thinking of: A cafe, A truck unloading, a cenotaph, hotel lobby, and hotel room. 

I do have concepts drawn, but they're pretty gnarly as i'm not too good at drawing, so really just there to remind me of what's in my head, and probably won't look like much to anyone else.

So, some progress screenshots:

Early Blockout, really just getting the dimensions for the square down. Will probably re-scale based on the size of the apartment building on the left... I think it might be slightly too small though.

A shot from ground-level.

Putting together a set of modular pieces to quickly put together the buildings that will surround the square. First time i've really used this technique, so still figuring out what works best. (How am i going to do the low poly? what about Material IDs and texture sheets?)

An apartment building i put together using the modular pieces, plus some custom ones that i guess i can add back into the pool (The Awning is pretty dodgy, please forgive it). As it stands I don't think it's detailed enough, but I'm guessing a lot of it will be carried through the textures (Bricks, Roof tiles, stone, etc.)