Home Technical Talk

I'm beginner, please help.

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi, my name is Jack Banner, and i'm new to modelling, animate 3D models.

- Like the title, i'm beginner and need help.
- I have so many questions but don't know who should i ask.
- I used to work with zBrush and plan to do some animation works and textures in maya too, here are my questions:

1. I have an example, if i done modelling a car with 50 subtools, when all of them has been decimated:
- Should i export each decimated subtool to Maya, or, i just need to mark each subtool with 1 polygroup, merge copy of them together to become 1 model, then export to OBJ file and push to maya?

2. I really don't know what to do after i done retopology my zBrush model in maya:
- If i already textures my model in zBrush, how can i apply those maps to the low poly model in maya?
- If i not yet textures my model in zBrush, what map should i take from zBrush to apply to the low poly model in Maya to have my high poly model details?
- Is this process name: baking? Please help me how to do it.

3. I don't know how 3D modelling to animation workflow. Please tell me the process.

4. If i done process call 'baking' and 'rigging', should i animate my 3D model or i have to animate the low poly model first then baking?

Because my PC's Graphics card is weak, so i can't work with some advanced painting 3D model program like Substance Painter or 3D Coat to paint my 3D model.

Please help.

And Thanks.

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Hi Jack.
    The exact workflow you need depends on what you want to do with the model you intend to animate. Is the final model for standard hipoly animation, or realtime interactive animation? All the information you need can be found at: http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Polycount.