Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Blizzard Student Contest - Character Art

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
ChiNguyen greentooth
Hello! I'm participating in the Blizzard Student Contest under character art. This year I want to try making a mount since I've never done one before and so far I have two grey scale concepts but final product will be a 3D model with hand painted textures. My mount main theme is "armored frog". I've made two mix breed mount; one is a bull and frog and the other is a lizard and frog. Right now I am unsure on which concept to use. I feel like the frog lizard's design is a bit stronger but not by a lot. I would like some feedback on the designs and which concept do you guys feel is stronger?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
  • ChiNguyen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ChiNguyen greentooth
    I decided to go with the 2nd option and fixed up the feet so they are now flat on the grid. I also Included a 3/4 view.

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    really play with the frog head silhouette.  Almost give it weird toad qualities to make it pop.  
  • ChiNguyen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ChiNguyen greentooth
    I changed the armor design and raised the frog's head to give it's back a better arc. I feel like this design gives it a better silhouette. I wanted the head to look more like a tree frog rather than a toad so I also enlarged the eyes and flattened the head a good bit. So far this model is about 5.4k polys out of 6k before deleting unnecessary faces in the armor.

• akiratang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    akiratang polycounter lvl 11
    That looks pretty neat, Id love to see it coloured
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd dab to this.  This is funny to look at; good job nailing the humor.
  • ChiNguyen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message