Home Career & Education

Self Teaching Journey

Hi everyone!

This is my first post on Polycount and if you have time I would really appreciate it if you read my first post.

I could use strong community feedback of experienced game designers and artists in the next coming weeks.

I was a 3D artist at an Advertising Firm where I used Cinema 4D and Octane Render Engine to do Experiential Design.  I soon began to realize this was very similar to Environment art in Video Games.  Environment art became way more appealing to me and last month I decided to quit my job!  I have decided to go for a job in the Video game industry as either a Jr. prop artist or Jr. environment artist.

All my new free time is being put toward learning the following programs:
 3DS MAX / ZBRUSH / UNREAL ENGINE / SUBSTANCE PAINTER & DESIGNER

My game plan is to learn to model and sculpt assets in 3DS Max and Zbrush and then learn how to texture them using either Photoshop and Substance Painter and Designer and finally use all of these assets to create environments in Unreal Engine.  This will require patience and dedication but I am extremely confident in my artistic abilities and my willpower to learn.

I plan on posting my progress as well as process to learning.  I want to have daily posts and proof of my learning and progress to share with you all.  (I will post those in a more appropriate section of the forums.)

I am posting here to ask you to help/critique my learning of industry standards and give me feedback during this process.  I currently have no income and am really putting my balls on the chopping block with this move.  

Please take a look at my current website to give you an example of my starting knowledge and experience with 3D Assets and skills.

Website = https://georgie.run/

Please let me know what you think of this move and what advice you have for me.

Thank you All and I look forward to working with you.

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message