Home Technical Talk

Looking for fur texture workflow ideas -- Possibilities with xgen and arnold

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
I have little experience with offline rendering in Maya and will be looking into this further, but I have a few basic ideas on how I could derive some texture maps for animal fur using xgen. 

1. Setup and groom the fur, render with Arnold, and right now I know that I can render an AO pass, and I assume a flat color as well, but I also need a normal channel. Is is possible to render the normal channel with Arnold? Or would I need to use displacement, and find a way to convert that? I could edit any grayscale texture and turn that into height in Substance Painter, but this usually doesn't have as good of fidelity as a normal channel. Idea here is to take lots of high resolution shots from the render and project the different channels in Substance Painter.

2. Export the xgen splines as curves, assign geometry to them somehow, and use this for baking. This doesn't seem as feasible as I could have tens of thousands of curves.... The main benefit with this idea is that I can use xgen's excellent grooming tools, as opposed to something like fibermesh in zbrush which outputs bakeable geometry easily enough but with poorer control. 

Have you done anything like this? Any ideas/tips are really appreciated. 

What I am doing right now is baking fibermesh, and it looks alright but I lack the level of grooming control I could be getting if I use xgen, and also it's a pretty slow workflow that requires guessing, waiting, and so on. Not an ideal way to work...

Replies

• Starboxx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Starboxx polycounter lvl 11
    Welp, i am looking exactly into the same thing as you are.

For now, i haven't tried to groom my animal in Zbrush beceause i don't really like the fibermesh beceause i think it always look too fake.