Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dead Robot - Cobert 3D Model

node
Hello everyone, My name is Michael (and im new to Polycount)
This year has been incredible for learning and expanding my skills. One of the programs i picked up this year is Substance Painter, which i'v had a lot of practice in lately. I wanted to put my knowlage forward with a small 3D model of a robot. This robot has actually been in my head for over a year now, it's something i'v always wanted to explore visually so i'm proud of how it came out.
Modeled in 3DSmax, Textured in Substance Painter.

Any feedback or thoughts would be much appreciated!

Replies

• PeterK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeterK greentooth
    Hi Michael, Thanks for posting. hopefully my feedback can help you improve your work and give you some ideas.

1) There is a scale mismatch on the bar-code and the barrel which confuses the scale of the overall object. Is it the size of a barrel, or tiny enough that a bar-code would be that big on it? I certainly can't tell.  Is that even a barrel, or a soda/tin can?

2) On the robot, is the part with the magnet coming out of it the head? Or is that smaller part dangling above that the head? if the head is the smaller part craned backwards, then you need to change the "body" because it he "body" also looks like a face.

3) The materials don't show any differentiation, they all seem flat.

4) The dent in the can/barrel goes from one side to the other. Basically it looks like you just grabbed the edge from the top vertex to the bottom and moved it inward to make a dent across the entire surface. Unless that barrel/can was hit by a bar across that entire side, it would not dent like that. That robot thing certainly would not cause a uniform dent across that entire surface.

Basically mate, I have no idea what the hell you're trying to show me here because you have too many items at cross purpose with each other.