Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review

DavidQ
node
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
DavidQ node
Trying to get a job in the industry and looking for feedback on my portfolio.
I have a Bachelor's in video game art, I decided that animation will be my disciple of choice.
It would be a huge help to gain more insight on what I should work on.
Thanks everyone.

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    I'm not an animator or a pro but speaking generally about portfolios: I think it'd be a good idea to look at the reels of *hired* junior level animators to determine where you need to improve next. To my untrained eye, things seem a little rough around the edges before the Croc clips. Hopefully folks with more experience can step in here and offer further critique.

https://www.artstation.com/figmentpigment/blog/P9O3/huge-heap-of-hopefully-helpful-hints
  • CarlCraft
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CarlCraft polycounter lvl 9
    To give some feedback on your presentation: I absolutely think you should have ONE reel and not multiple smaller clips. Pick out your best animations and make a short movie out of it, that case I don't have to do the work of looking at your stuff. Now it doesn't bother me personally that much but I know if you want to get in to the industry the people hiring will be annoyed having to click multiple 10 second clips to get an idea of what you can do.

About your actual content I think Taylor brings up a good point about looking at where others in your position are at to get an idea of what you need to do to improve. I'm not an animator myself but right now to put it bluntly I'd say you need to improve a bit of everything. Especially if you are looking to get a job. Maybe start off with an internship? But right now I'm pretty sure you just need to put your head down and make a lot of stuff and you will eventually get better. Gotta work hard!
  • jose.fuentes
    Options