Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Savanna Environment

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
kierangoodson polycounter lvl 5
Hello artists,

This is my first attempt at creating an environment in Unreal Engine 4 for my portfolio. 

I'm looking for all round critique: from the raw composition to the sunset atmosphere I'm going for, to any individual details that might compromise the scene.

I've made a list of things I can spot at this stage but wanted some professional/experienced eyes on the still.

Many thanks.

Replies

• kierangoodson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • PeterK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeterK greentooth
    Welcome, and thanks for posting. You're letting your light wash everything out. I've done a lot of work/art related to savanna environments, and I can tell you they are rich with color.

The stereotypical African umbrella thorn tree against an orange background is just seared into our brains for some reason. I recommend you dial back that light, and give your scene some more life. Your water is also obviously tiling, so you may want to look into that also.

I really enjoy the environment you're representing, and I can't wait to see how you modify and update this going forward.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    For some inspiration, check this out : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4c_4KZu91ew

As far as I've seen, nobody is making more stunning, realistic environments than these guys. 
  • Olingova
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Olingova interpolator
    For me it looks liek a good start!! The tiling of the water texture bothers me a bit but i look forward to see more!
  • kierangoodson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @PeterK