Home Career & Education

Classical atrist fed up with classical art!

Dasha_Canavar
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Dasha_Canavar polycounter lvl 2

Hi everyone! I am completely new here.. And I am here because I need an advice. 

I am a classical artist specializing in realistic drawing and painting. And as I wrote in the topic I am fed up with classical art. I bought a wacom tablet not so long time ago and practicing digital drawing, and I really love it! I want to find a job in this field. I am eager to learn, and I understand that I need to learn a lot before I can find a job. I need an advice what type of a job to study for. 

So: I am very good in depicting people and any type of realistic drawing, I love to play games. Could you give me tips about jobs which could suit a person like me? I would investigate them instead of reading all the content on google about gaming.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Character artist, concept artist come to mind for somebody already accustomed to studying the human form. You can get an overview of typical disciplines at the wiki on this site.

2d character concept artist would probably be the simplest transition, but who knows maybe you'll really like 3d or even get into tech art or animation. I'd recommend trying out a lot of stuff if you aren't in a hurry.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Concept artist or illustrator.

They are different jobs.
  • valuemeal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    valuemeal polycounter lvl 6
    Seeing your pieces could help my good fellow,
    so that we can see what you would be more suited for.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
  • Dasha_Canavar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanx for the answers everyone! 

I went to study wiki on this site, very helpful, now I understand a little bit better what are the jobs in gaming.