Home Technical Talk

UVs, Texture Sheets and Texel Density - How the hell do I texture this big ol' thing?

Hi folks, I'm quite new to 3D but I've modeled a few individuals objects.

However, now that I've started work on a larger scene project, I've run across issues with texel density. The plane in the attached image is a 512x512cm object with a 4k texture applied (i'm using UE4 where a cm is 8px). 

Now my problem is that the large metal girder here that makes up a piece of the building around which my scene takes place is far too big to fit onto a single UV sheet while also maintaining the desired texel density.

How do you as artists maintain your texel density of assets larger than your reference object before bringing them into suites like Substance Painter?

TL:DR How do I split up an objects UVs onto multiple texture sets in a way that facilitates seamless texturing in Substance Painter?

Replies

• ant1fact
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ant1fact polycounter lvl 9
    You don't really split up your objects into multiple texture sets, not in this case anyway. What you do with large objects like this is you use a tiling material on it, scale up your UVs until you got the desired texel density and then use mask in engine to blend with another tiling material (or multiple ones) to break up the repetition. No reason to use 4k textures, 2k should be plenty for all your tiling materials.

"(i'm using UE4 where a cm is 8px)" this doesn't really make sense if you think about it. 8px could be a cm or it could be 10m in the game world. Change px to tx, it makes sense again. Also it's entirely up to you what you choose for your texel density.
  • RedSaturnSix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message