Home Career & Education

Traditional art schools/courses

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Torch interpolator
Hi all, I wanted to get some feedback from people here regarding traditional training such as drawing and painting and some recommendation as to which colleges/courses to check out. I've been freelancing in 3D for a few years and currently work at a studio in Nottingham, UK. The studio is great, but I would love a bit more confidence with my art fundamentals, as I never really studied them previously, I just started in 3D a few years back and never really practiced the 2D side of art!

I am ideally looking for a year or 2 course, (something foundational.) I'd like to pick up the basics, e.g. perspective, form, lighting, etc. It would be great if I could also study a course that would cater towards character art, e.g. figurative studies, anatomy, proportion, gesture. Can anyone recommend any good colleges or good experiences they had on a certain course, similar to what I'm looking for? I'm looking anywhere in the UK to further afield, such as Berlin or Italy. One friend recommended SACI in Florence: https://saci-florence.edu/   but looking to hear more suggestions if anyone has any.

Any advice would be great :smile:  Cheers!

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

Hi there:

Though I'm specifically unable too provide recommendations in relation to your request, there are online alternatives I assume you're well aware of, however in any case I'll link this recent top ten listing compiling their respective traditional Art curriculum presently on offer:

https://www.creativebloq.com/features/10-incredible-online-art-schools