Home Career & Education

Quitting job (with savings) to focus on craft?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Has anyone had any experience with living on savings to work on their craft? Any success stories?

I graduated from university a couple of years ago, and have since found it very difficult to dedicate my life to illustration, 3D, and animation, 3 areas which I really enjoyed working on during my course, and developed my skill set in to a point where I felt I had potential.
Unfortunately I was unable to get a job where I can utilize these skills regularly (ie; at all), and had to settle for a typical office job. Though I've recently changed to part time hours, which allows for me to work on these skills for 5ish hours each day (free time), it still isn't enough. I'm not improving enough at this rate to get to the point where I can get the job I'd like, or get good enough to sustain myself via freelance/commission work.

I've got enough savings to last me a year (including rent, food, bills), where I can just focus on drawing, modelling, and animating, from dawn till dusk, but I'd like to get opinions of this lifestyle change from people who have perhaps done it themselves, or at least know people who have.
Is this a necessary thing for an artist to do?

Replies

• Iuliae
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Iuliae polycounter lvl 4