Home Adobe Substance

[HELP] Learner struggling to fill my knowledge gap - Substance Designer

taylerhughes
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
taylerhughes polycounter lvl 3
Hi,

First post. Long time lurker. 

I'm trying to follow the following lava material tutorial.
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/QGB04

I'm excited by the result (as it's my first time using the software) but I'm obviously missing something big. I've been watching hours and hours of videos to try and get my head around the software. 

Mine is nowhere near, not even remotely close the the tutorial end product. I know it's not going to be because I've just started but I'm obviously missing something in terms of high map or normal map? My material has nowhere near as much depth as the original. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction so I can learn about what I'm missing?

Replies

• Snweos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snweos polycounter lvl 4
    You don't appear to have a roughness map set up, I'd work on that first.

Also in terms of extra depth, the original person probably has a tessellation map set up to distort the geometry of the model. I'd focus on setting up your roughness and normal maps correctly before worrying about tessellation / height maps though.
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    Your material probably has height scale 0 too

• taylerhughes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 said:
    Your material probably has height scale 0 too

I think this was the depth issue. I put material scale height up to 1 and this was the result. Depth issue fixed, many more to go.

Thanks for the pointer.
  • taylerhughes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snweos said: