Home Technical Talk

[zBrush, Maya, SP] Hatsune Miku model

OSad
null
Offline / Send Message
OSad null
Hello!

Some background: I  like to model things that seem cool for fun. I'm trying to do a character model off of this drawing.

Problem is, while sculpting is fun and all, I'm completely new to this zBrush approach, so once the mesh is at a stage where I would personally consider it "done" and ready to move on, I have no idea how to get it out of zBrush to do other things. I've previously done another model where I did it all and exported it right out of zBrush, but it was my very first, wasn't really retopologized, it was shoddily colored with polypaint and shoved out the door ASAP once I realized I was in way over my head trying to be a proper 3D artist.

Anyway, here's the model in question, so far. I got to a point where I'm fairly happy with it and would consider the mesh part of it "done". Now, considering that my normal workflow is to make and UV something in Maya, then move on to Substance Painter, then back to Maya to pose it, how the heck do I get this 500.000 point monstrosity to SP? Should I even attempt to do that?

I could zRemesh everything, but then I lose so much detail around the skirt, hair and mouth areas, which is just unacceptable. Should I pose the model before I take it anywhere else? Should I UV in zBrush using UV Master if I plan to texture the model in SP? I understand there's a certain workflow you can do to transfer hipoly data to a lowpoly model, but I can't find a clear tutorial on how to do that, they seem to include xNormal and 3Dcoat into the process which I don't know if it's necessary since SP bakes maps off of highpoly meshes as well, I believe.