Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Advice to Improve Walk Cycle ?

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Vortakis9 null
Hi people,

I am a student, studying Games Development, and I'm currently working in animation for a project. I would like to ask for an advice from any artist out there who is familiar with 3D Animation(Maya).

I am not very familiar with Animation, fairly new to the field, but I'm more experienced with Programming and Rigging. 
I'm trying to make a walk cycle for low poly meshes which have abstract topology. I'm using the basic techniques like tweaking the Translation/Rotation of my NURB Controls, Graph Editor, Dope Sheet and Editable Motion Trail. The problem is that the animations always look too stiff, no matter how much I try to polish them. We aim for a realistic approach.

I'm wondering if there are any techniques that can help me polish them in a more advanced level and make the animations look more fluid? Any advice is very appreciated and also any critique to improve is very welcome.

PS. Please ignore the fact that the NURB controls looks displaced. The reason is because I have a secondary rig in the scene that I imitate its joints animation to this one through a script.

Thank you.

Replies

• EVernier
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EVernier polycounter lvl 8
    You should upload a front and a side view on syncsketch. It'll be easier to give feedback! Also when you do your anim preview to upload to the site, hide the nurbs controls.
    https://syncsketch.com/
  • Forever
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Forever polycounter lvl 3
    I'll just throw down some quick feedback first of all:

- I'm not sure, but I think it's a bit too slow for just a generic walk. A generic walk will take place over between 24-30ish frames on average. Maybe more, maybe less. Yours seems to be about 40 for two steps. I could be wrong as frames has never been my specialty, but yeah, it seems too slow.