Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Environment Art Challenge - July & August 2017 (49)

Replies

• SamStark
    Offline / Send Message
    SamStark triangle

Progress for this week.

Got sick this week, couldn't get much done :( . Started doing the textures though, this is my first attempt at hand-painting texture as well.

Saw so many people so far ahead, and some even working off the concept art! You guys are amazing, great works!!!
  • kwagner
    Offline / Send Message
    kwagner polycounter lvl 5
    @SamStark I love your little dragon thing. I'm too scared to attempt that right now haha. I'm trying to get my laptop to cooperate so I can take some stuff into ZBrush to make an attempt at the texturing...Welcome to the New To Hand-Painted Texturing Club.
  • donnolus
    Offline / Send Message
    donnolus polycounter lvl 2
    Hope I'm not too late to the party

• Larry
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator
    kwagner said:
    @Larry so very few of my models are UV mapped and the ones that are, I also made a lightmap for. Unreal can automatically create a lightmap for a mesh on import if the option is checked, but depending on the surface and the material on it, the modular peices can look very obvious. It's 100% worth it to take the time to create the lightmaps for most of the meshes.
    Yea but thinking back now, on what i've seen, people try to hide artifacts like that in modular buildings. For example if you have a modular wall set, people tend to place some columns or wood planks in the seams of those meshes. Isn't that to cover for the seam and not spend too much time on making it look good?
  • kwagner
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry said:
    kwagner said: