Home Career & Education

Newcomer with lofty goals, hoping Polycount will bring me closer

null
Offline / Send Message
Renin null

Introduction

My name's Ryan. I'm an aspiring indie game developer. I use the alias Renin for pretty much everything online. It's been a long time since I've had an online community to call home, and I'm hoping Polycount will become that community for me. This may end up being a somewhat long post, but it's been so long since I've been active on the internet, and I've got quite a bit to say. I'll try to be neat and tidy with my structure, and organize my thoughts as effectively as possible. This section is just a brief overview of my history with the internet and with development-related subjects.

Early Life: 
I can't think of a more accurate synopsis than to say that I was raised by video games and internet forums. My love for video games came to the forefront of my life around the time that I became active in online communities similar to this one, most notably Facepunch Studios and FPSBanana (now GameBanana). These forums fueled my passion. They had massive sub-communities of talented artists in everything from music production, to programming, to graphic art. Consequently, I started to dabble in everything. Even my early interest in philosophy and politics can be traced back to threads on those forums. I became very proficient in graphic design with Photoshop, music production with Ableton Live, and developed basic understandings of 3D modeling with 3DS Max and programming in C++. This decade-long upward spiral of learning and passion was frequently disturbed by trouble at school, conflict with my parents, and debilitating depression. Towards the end of high school, my parents got divorced, my college savings account "vanished", and it became quite clear that real life was about to hit me hard.