Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Thanos WIP.

fdd_vfx
null
Offline / Send Message
fdd_vfx null
Hey guys, this is my Thanos, largely inspired by the XM statue (ref below). I am getting back on the-sculpting-characters-horse and trying again to make a non-human character. I would hope someone with experience in beefy dudes could give me some advice on my proportions, it's a constant struggle for me (not that I am a pro at anatomy yet anyways). Of course, this is WIP. I am not trying to get an exact match with the original but instead, I am using the statue as a concept to work from as I have very little free time.

I'll be working the clothing folds later once most of the rest is in place. The gloves need love but I am just laying out pieces and cleaning up. All props will end up being re-modeled in Maya or Max. I don't have the ZB hard-surface skills just yet.

C&C is welcome.

Replies

• ysalex
    Offline / Send Message
    ysalex interpolator
    Hes looking good. A couple of things:

- His head seems pretty big, I think you have the general thick/muscled humonoid moster proportions down, but the large head is making him read as pretty short. Im not saying like a hulk sized mini head or anything, but scaling it down a bit to make him feel a little taller might help.

- An anatomy thing, but the rectus femoris is a little too low. By having yours low, you are creating an X shape where the vastus lateralis and medialis meet the knee cartiledge. Bringing it up so that the lateralis and medialis create a bit of a intersection that leads to where the femoris inserts might help. I might not be explaining it well, so maybe google some bodybuilders.