Home Career & Education

Abandon the career?

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
RipNic polycounter lvl 13

Its time to ask myself some difficult questions and wondering if other people are in the same situation or has been?
But I am thinking of abandon the career path on which I have been striving for the past 8 years now.

8 years ago I started studying 3D artist for games and since then I have had a lot of various smaller experiences and studies ( latest study where focused towards CGI). As professional experience I have only had a shorter one on 2 years as a general artist in which my contract was ended this October, it was fun people to work with but didn't gave me so much experience as I hoped.

At the moment I'm struggling to find jobs but I'm highly skeptical to land anything in the near future.
Never felt that I am good enough and everywhere I see people delivers incredible things. And some of these are just young students .. its kinda a motivational killer for me as I turn 30 next year.

I try work as much as possible on portfolio stuff but it takes time, right now working a scene that contains a lot of work for one person. and I still have to do other things like job search and daily chorus. so I sit here behind the computer to late nights everyday.

Also decided to reserve some time for working with 2D practicing concept and so on.) So basically I have no free time at all, no social life and rarely leaves my apartment. Its always work on my mind and worrying about life and future, Living to work and working to live.

I know that this is a struggling career and I have asked my self what else would I like to work with and I cant think of any to be honest. It was fun to work with games, and the sense of working "artistically" and "creative"

So I was wondering what advises you could give me and general thoughts about this.

Cheers.

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator