Home Technical Talk

Help xnormal baking error. ghost image from previous bake

hi im a amateur artist that loves to model, just recent i began to tinker with models for games. i ve been working a asset for warframe, personal project just as learning process the past couple of day i been pulling my hair with normal, my knowledge is low.

so basically i bake a normal i was not happy and bake another, the i got impatience and create redo the uvs and just let blender do auto packing for testing because i was having kinda ghost image, then with the new uv layout i saw what i marked with red. seems like the old layout has some kind of ghost effect on the new one. im confuse is the some form of cache issue ?
appreciate any kind of feedback and help, im kinda annoy i dont know what to do.
using x normal v3.19 and blender 2.78

Replies

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Can't help with Blender, but you should definitely name your thread better if you want to get help. Like "Blender and Xnormal - normal map baking errors". Or "Blender and Xnormal - Baking/UV issues".  Titles like "I'm a noob plz help" won't make much people checking in.

Good luck!

• frozenfenrir
    thank you for the comment i should change right away
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is a generic idea though I'm really not sure what you can do in blender and whatnot and how etc. But since the errors appears only inside the uv islands, isn't it possible that they overlap with something? Like you are trying to bake a symmetrical thing and the uvs of the 2 sides overlaps. Then the error would make sense.

I'm just shooting in the dark.
  • frozenfenrir