Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Final Fantasy Fan Art - Alexander

vertex
Hey guys, how are you doing?

I'm working on a personal project to put in practice everything that I learnt in 2016.

ABOUT ME

My name is Rodrigo Marques and I'm from Brazil. I started my studies about 3D in january and since that I studied modeling in 3DS Max, sculpting in ZBrush, texturing in Substance Painter and material creation in Substance Designer. I also read some books to learn some basics of modeling and texturing and how computer graphics works.
When I started, I already had some knowledge of Unity 3D, Photoshop, design, composition and color, but not advanced. I also studied a little about these subjects throughout the year.
I'm aiming to be an environment artist to work on the game industry, but I also trying to get knowledge about rendering, since there aren't many game companies where I live and I think that I'll start my professional carrer in companies that make content to the advertising market.

GOALS

In this project I will try to make something awesome that requires everything that I can do with the aquired skills along this year. This means to put in practice my skills with each software that I studied and what I learned about environment art for games.
I am also recording the time spent on the project through Toggl to know how long it will take to do something like this.
This will be good for me to know my weak points and this will help me to plan my studies for the next year.

THE PROJECT

In this project I will try to make an environment inspired by Alexander, a summon/eidolon/esper from the Final Fantasy game series.
Here is a screenshot of him from a Final Fantasy IX cinematic. He is the big guy that looks like a castle with wings: