Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

fantasy workshop/study room diorama

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
b0lly polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys!
I've only been doing 3d for about 2 years now so I'm still pretty new at it. I mostly do hard surface props, but I try to challenge myself all the time. I've decided I want to make a diorama-type environment, in a fantasy setting since 99% of the things I do are futuristic/sci-fi :smile:
I've been doing environments in Unity before during my internship at a studio so I have a basic clue on how to approach this project, but I still have some question marks left. But first, I want to present the type of environment I'm going to make. 

I wanted to make some sort of workshop/library/study room in a fantasy setting, but not dark and gritty. I've been looking around for inspiration for a while, and the pic that really caught my eye is from the D&D players handbook: 

..But with a more realistic (pbr) touch. 

I've started a bit of a block out in Maya and I'll probably be posting wip-pics all through the project if there is any interest! The headscratchers for me at the moment is how I'm going to approach the the texturing. I'm thinking I'll probably do a texture for floor, one for walls, one or more for the furniture and some sort of atlas-texture map for all the little nick-nacks? Any suggestions here? Am I thinking in too much of a prop-mindset when I'm trying to keep the texture map count low? 

Also, I'm trying to figure out how to go about the rendering when I'm done. I do all my renderings in Marmoset, is that suitable for environments? Or should I look into unreal or some other engine for environment renders?

Any tips or comments are appreciated! And ask away if anything is unclear. But be gentle, I'm still pretty new at this :blush:

Replies

• b0lly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    b0lly polycounter lvl 5