Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fable Tavern (WIP)

MagicFlyingBus
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
MagicFlyingBus polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys! First time poster really excited to show off a project I have been working on. 

A little about me, I am an aspiring 3D artist, hoping to land a job (soon) in the industry! My skill sets are modeling, texturing and lighting.

Programs used: 

Modeling, and Set Dressing: Maya

High Poly Sculpts: Zbrush

Baking; Xnormals

Color and other maps: Photoshop, Substance Designer / Painter

Render: Marmoset Tool Bag 2

Things I am having issues with. Making the roof. I have been banging my head against the wall on how to make a believable wood slated roof without just overlaying an image, and not going crazy on poly count. Trying to find a nice in between. 

Trees and Foliage, this is mostly inspired by two games, Fable and The Witcher. I wanted the setting to be more Scandinavian and have been doing research on types of foliage in those areas, but my hang ups are actually creating the plant models. I honestly have no idea on where to begin. Same thing with Trees.

For the back I wanted to add a few barrels and wooden crates since it is a tavern I also have a wagon modeled (But not shaded) I wanted to add to the scene. Additionally I have a few lanterns made as well.

Any props, suggestions, or critique are greatly welcomed!

I have a Cellar made out and currently in the process of making a high poly sculpt for the back right corner. 

Here is the stone wall texture that I made. I used Zbrush for the high Poly pass then used ZappLink to get the Normal, Cavity, and Masks Maps out. With those I was able to create the Color and used Quxiel NDO to create the ambient occlusion.