Home Technical Talk

Zbrush UV texturing problem.

darmar
vertex
Offline / Send Message
darmar vertex
question about zbrush - i am still new to all of this (1 month )

TEXTURING.

Okay i have multiple subtools which i unwrapped all separated.
Did poly paint on them ( all of them have 4 divided levels )

I merge them all as one piece ( multiple subtools) and this is what happens with my UVcolor map + normal map i cant export.

What am i doing wrong ? unsure emoticon any other way of doing it.

Any easier way maybe ? some other process??

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    When you merge subtools it destroys uv data and sub-d levels. You would need to do this in a 3d app (max/maya/etc) 

Export (or GoZ) combine the meshes and repack the uvs.
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    I'm guessing your UVs are overlapping once merged. Running the tool through UVMaster should fix this. You can have it preserve existing UV seams. 
    If your UVs were created externally, you could also fix them externally to make sure nothing overlaps as well.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid said:
    I'm guessing your UVs are overlapping once merged. Running the tool through UVMaster should fix this. You can have it preserve existing UV seams. 
    If your UVs were created externally, you could also fix them externally to make sure nothing overlaps as well.

Only problem with that is that you lose sub-d levels when merging so you would have to go through the process of duplicating/projecting/etc as you're left with the highest level in the merged tool thus making it pretty much a no-go unwrapping again. Much easier to just export the lowest levels to a 3d package and combine/pack there.

Although OP never said whether the end result was for illustration or game/animation asset purposes?
  • darmar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    darmar vertex