Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Wizard's Study (3D/Environment) - My first personal project

xhi
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
xhi polycounter lvl 2
Updated: 12/30/15

Hello everyone ~

Winter break is finally here so I can start working on things for myself.  I'm a game art student in my senior year, however it's been a rough and slow journey to get the hang of things.  I've seen a ton of success stories on this forum and everyone is generally friendly and helpful.  Maybe I can improve too!

For my project I'm working on a small room with a lot of trinkets.  It will be like a Wizard's study, including a table, bookshelf, and things like potions and spell books.

Similar to this (Artist unknown - not made by me):

My Project Pinterest

So far this is what I have - simple models.  I'm thinking it's a good idea to make all the untextured/sculpted models first and block out a room, then build from there.  Let me know if there's a better work flow!

Assets decided on:
  • Potions
  • Hourglass
  • Candels
  • Wooden Table
  • Spellbook
  • Bookshelf
  • Quill & ink
  • Stained glass window
  • Magnifying Glass
  • Maps
  • Things in liquid in Jars
Working on:
  • Room layout
  • Better ways to present my progress photos
  • Teaching myself Substance xD

I'll continue to post here and also stream progress on my Twitch channel since it gives me motivation n_n Tips and comments are welcome as I want to push this to be the best it/I can be!

Thank you for stopping by.

Replies

• wirrexx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx quad damage
    try to block out the space of the environment with primitives and put in a some light to get a feel for the scene! =) Work yourself slowly from there with the smaller parts ( i like to go with Primary meshes, secondary and down). Otherwise not so much to critique, But i'll be following these, like the concept a lot!=)
  • xhi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xhi polycounter lvl 2
    wirrexx said: