Home Interview

Phillip Klevestav

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
adam polycounter lvl 19

You know him in the videogame art community as PhillipK, the one writing all those amazing tutorials as of late. I wanted to talk with him about who he is, why he's writing these tutorials (really, what's in it for him?) and where he's headed in the future. And if his desk setup (pictured above) is any indication, he's a very modest artist.

First off, who are you?

My name is Philip Klevestav and I live in Stockholm, Sweden.

I've been working in the games industry for a bit over five years so far, starting off at a company called Grin as a Level Designer. I soon moved over to focus more on art though. After a bit more than four years at Grin I did some work for Unknown Worlds on Natural Selection 2 for a short period of time to later move over to Starbreeze where I currently work.

Before I started working professionally in the industry I used to be pretty active in the modding community for a few years, mostly focusing on the Half-Life games.

[caption id="attachment_3469" align="alignnone" width="630" caption="Klevestav's modular rock tutorial"][/caption]

What is your art background? Both traditional education, online, or otherwise.

I never really had any focus on art during my education and I left school after graduating senior high school. I simply learned most stuff by trial and error as well as being lucky enough to join mod teams with exceptionally talented people. The same thing goes for work, I have a lot of people to thank for taking the time to teach me.