Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Dying bird (looking for feedback)

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
VanZark polycounter lvl 3
I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or feedback on this animation before I start doing the cleanup. Unfortunately it has to be only 60 frames long. So that's why it's so short. I really wanted to fit as much as I could in that time though. Does that make it too "sped up" or jerky looking?

I'm still fairly new to animation so any tips or feedback would be appreciated.

OxASP9A.gif

Replies

• Arturow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arturow polycounter
    LOL, loved how his wings transforms into like hands, its a clear idea and funny. Maybe when you finish the animation it will feel a little bit rushed the 360° ( just an opinion) but I think that it can be going from the choke to the dead ( so we can read that choke a few more frames ) and add a nice overlap to the body when falling , remember is just my opinion =) but good job! please post the final result :)
  • VanZark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VanZark polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks for the great suggestions. I kinda want to keep the 360° since it kinda adds a more "cartoon dramatic death" feel. Maybe going with one large cough would be better then the two quick coughs? might read better and slow things down a bit?
  • Arturow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arturow polycounter
    I think 2 coughs are working good and 1 would be too fast. I wouldn't put a large cough , since all the movements are fast and it would looks strange.

If you want to keep the 360° then go for it :D!! and start the clean up , if you feel that later the 360 is too fast , just take frames from the end and add another pose in the 360. Take my points as opinions , at the end you are the one that is going to decide, cheers and good luck!! :D
  • linwail
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    linwail polycounter lvl 5