Home Technical Talk

Better for 3d character modeling? 3ds or Maya?

onyichi
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
onyichi polycounter lvl 7
I want to become a character designer and I'd like to learn how to model in 3D. I am getting the hang of sculpting in Zbrush and am using Digital tutors as a guide.

I hear 3ds is easier for modeling but I am more familiar with Maya. I'm still a a novice modeler and am willing to learn 3ds Max too.

So which is better for character modeling or just modeling?

Maya or 3DS Max?

Replies

• peanut™
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    peanut™ polycounter lvl 19
    Do like i did 17 years ago, learn 3dsMax and Maya all together and enjoy the ride.
  • onyichi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    onyichi polycounter lvl 7
    Yeah I'm gonna start watching the DT videos for 3DS tonight!
  • Indik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Indik polycounter lvl 9
    Both are good enough. I feel Maya is a bit better for characters because of better symmetry tools, better brushes and sculpting and retopo.
  • Fingus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fingus polycounter lvl 11
    Honestly, not much of a difference. There's nothing about Max or Maya that makes each better for a certain kind of modeling.

It comes down to preference. Do you want to be deliberate and precise? 3DS Max. Do you want to be streamlined and fast, but a bit sloppy? Maya.
  • Nox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nox polycounter lvl 5
    Most of the work when modeling a character is done in ZBrush, so it does not really matter.
  • PixelDevil
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelDevil null