Home Technical Talk

3ds Max : Best Max workflow for rendering out base textures?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Danger_Sideburns polycounter lvl 7
Hi Polycount!

I'm working in Max trying to figure out the best way to render out a base diffuse map that I can color and edit in Photoshop and put on my 3d model. I'm using render to texture to create a light map and using a skylight to illuminate the model when it's rendering.

Long story short, I feel like there's probably a better way to do this and want the best base I can get. What workflow do you guys use for this?

I'd also like to add that I googled it for a while but couldn't find what I'm looking for. I'm new to rendering out textures so maybe I'm just not typing in the right thing.

Thanks for any help!

Pic related, it's the map I rendered.

kqSLG5v.png

Replies

• pixelquaternion
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelquaternion polycounter lvl 6
    Hi Polycount!

I'm working in Max trying to figure out the best way to render out a base diffuse map that I can color and edit in Photoshop and put on my 3d model. I'm using render to texture to create a light map and using a skylight to illuminate the model when it's rendering.

Long story short, I feel like there's probably a better way to do this and want the best base I can get. What workflow do you guys use for this?

I'd also like to add that I googled it for a while but couldn't find what I'm looking for. I'm new to rendering out textures so maybe I'm just not typing in the right thing.

Thanks for any help!

Pic related, it's the map I rendered.

Hi there,

Just render a diffuse map from rtt there is no magical way to do this, you can also paint it with software like SP or even in 3ds max canvas but i prefer SP workflow since you can paint all channels separately.

Regards Peter
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message