Home Technical Talk

Smoothing Scans in zbrush problem

Jonathan85
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Jonathan85 polycounter lvl 9
Hello, im having problems smoothing scanned meshes in zbrush, im new to zbrush. I have some scanned mesh and the surface is bumpy, noisy etc. The mesh has around 1,5-5 milion faces for example. When i try to use any smoothing brush in zbrush (like smooth, smooth peaks, smooth valleys etc.), and even increase the size of the brush or intensity of the brush, the smoothing is very subtle, very very, its not usuable for me. One workaround i found out is to zremesh the mesh into lower polygon count (only few thousand), then SUBDIVIDE it (original scan mesh of course has only one subdivision level, with few milion faces). Then i project the original mesh to the zremeshed and subdivided one.

And then i can go to lower subvidision levels (which is not possible on the original scan) and can smooth the mesh quite ok, the lower the subdivision level i am on, the better the smoothing...

Im quite new to zbrush so im not sure if this is ok, i thought i should be able to smooth the original mesh with only 1 subdivison level quite well? I was not aware i have to go to lower subdivision level to smooth the bigger bumps/noise. The bigger the noise/bumps, the smaller the subdivision level i have to perform the smoothing on in order to get useable results...

Is this correct workflow? I want to smooth the original scans aswell is there a way?

Replies

• Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    That's how I would have done it too. Nothing wrong with that workflow.
  • jfitch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jfitch polycounter lvl 5
    What you're doing is exactly how I would do it. Doesn't make sense to try to do that smoothing on crazy high sub divs.
  • admir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    admir polycounter lvl 18