Home General Discussion

Cover Letter Critique

Hello everyone. I'm looking to apply for a qa tester position at telltale and I feel that I haven't been making my cover letters right. Thank you in advance for the critiques

Jonathon Kaufman
2355 West Capitol Ave Spc 46
West Sacramento, CA 95691
916-256-8104
jonathonkaufman@hotmail.com

Telltale Games
San Raphael, CA

Dear Ms. Kara Henander,
Hello, my name is Jonathon Kaufman. I am writing in interest to the QA Tester position advertised on your website. I’m a graduate from The Art Institute of California-Sacramento, with a Bachelor of Science in Game Art and Design, focusing in Environment Art. I volunteered for the International Game Developers Association at last years Game Developers Conference and have been offered a spot for this years conference.
Over at Apple we have to work very closely as a team to test, document, and track any visual or mechanical defects on computer and phone screens. My experience there has also honed and furthered my understanding of modern computer systems.
With my experience from working at Nascent Games and my student projects I have furthered my understanding of modern game systems and the game production process. QA testing is a large important part of the development process and I would be honored to further my games industry experience by joining the Telltale Games team.
Thank you so much for your time. I hope to hear from you soon regarding a potential interview with your team. I will follow up in one week by email. Please feel free to email me at jonathonkaufman@hotmail.com or call me at 916-256-8104.

Sincerely,
Jonathon Kaufman

Replies

• Equanim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Equanim polycounter lvl 11
    Not bad, you hit all of the bullet points but it could be less formal. Think of it as though you're leaving a voicemail to someone you shook hands with at a conference, not writing a book report to a total stranger.
  • blankslatejoe
    Options