Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Abandoned Power Plant

Aim
null
Offline / Send Message
Aim null
Hey guys my name is Aim. This is my work in progress thread for an environment I'm making in Unreal 4. The environment is the inside of a cooling tower in an abandoned power plant.

Here's a little background on me. This is my first polycount thread. I went to school for Game Art & Animation. Graduated a year ago in May 2013. Most of what I learned was technical skills, i.e. how to use Maya and Max. How to bring models and textures into UDK3 and setup materials. I completed my program in trimesters back to back and I feel like I never really got a chance to work on an environment outside of assignments, needless to say, I feel mighty inexperienced. Here goes!

This is my first attempt at doing a production quality environment for my portfolio. Shortly after graduation I found a job doing mobile app and game development. Adjusting to a life of full-time work has been a bit tough on my morale for personal artwork, but I've recently gotten in the zone and I'm excited to improve my skills.

Enough about me. My abandoned power plant environment is based on a real life abandoned power plant in Belgium. I'm going for a realistic art style but I'm attempting to create all my textures from scratch in Photoshop instead of using photos so I can learn more. Here's my primary reference image.

abandoned_power_plant_belgium_720.jpg

So far I'm 1 month and 2 days in and I've finished modeling it for the most part.

Assets I still need to model:
- The railing in the middle of lanes.
- Flowers, grass, and small foliage.
- A door

I've begun texturing the meshes that I have completed. I'm starting in the middle and moving outward.

abandoned_power_plant_r16.jpg

abandoned_power_plant_r17.jpg

Renders done in Marmoset.

Thoughts? Feedback? Critiques? Questions? All welcome. I'd love to hear what you think.