Home Technical Talk

Noob Question - Tri's vs. Quads

Hi all,

Newly registered to the forum, so a proper noob in every sense of the word.

The thing that got me to register are the challenges set on the forum based on concept art. As an aspiring 3d artist I have been dabbling into the fine arts and teaching myself, slowly but surely, how to model basic geometry and how to learn to texture.

The one thing I keep running into, and perhaps I have not researched this correctly, is that the recommended approach is to maintain quads where possible and to try and work out tri's within models.

Now in saying this, the advice that I have read has no correlation towards the gaming industry and how this translates there. When looking at a lot of the models produced in the monthly challenges I see people using tri's where they can be avoided (flat surface) and fail to connect vertices together (floating quads in geometry).

Now really, my questions are:

Should quad be used over tri's ?
Why do most game engines report on tri's rather than looking at quads?
Is it OK to have a mixture of both?
How would this translate into game engines (having more than (Example) 4 tri's connecting up to the same vertices?

I know my questions are very basic, but then so is my knowledge.

I hope someone is willing to dish this noob some serious case of the knowledge!

Either way, thanks all, and keep on inspiring!

Replies

• almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    I'll just answer your direct questions at the end as best as i can:

1. you "should" try to stick to quads purely because they subdivide cleaner, they're easier to read for other artists or animators, and UVing can be easier with quads. however, there's really no harm in using triangles for your final low poly mesh because: