Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4 WIP] Subway Train Station

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
THEONLYraider polycounter lvl 6
Hey Guys!

[Update 10/02/18] 

Currently working on my first environment in UE3. I picked this concept because I liked the challenges it presented, and I thought that it would be small enough for me to tackle. It's my first time blocking everything out with BSP brushes, and I wasn't able to get all the correct shapes I wanted from the block out. I threw a light in the scene for now to block things out.

Here is the concept I am working off of: 
By: Artyom Vlaskin
Found it on conceptroot.com

I blocked things out a bit until I felt there was enough information to work off of.
wRwEE88png

I broke things down with color. Then circled the pieces I thought were essential to making it feel like the concept. I then measured out the environment to match the players height.

Here is where I am at right now:
GJCebgHpng
Taken from the concept perspective.
4TKoxbTpng
Taken from the chairs view.
VdWCF2tpng
Security camera angle.
bfoh0zwpng
This is showing the extra room I will be making. It will be gated off, and have a soda machine inside the area, along with some reused props. Was thinking about how I could limit the player to just the corner. So I came up with the idea to gate off the area behind the concept, and make it provide more atmosphere.

That is everything I have so far on it. I had made a couple mistakes on the height of the ceiling early on. I adjusted it to make it taller, since the skeletal mesh I am using in the scene is a bit smaller than when I play the level. Decided to add the extra room, and a black foggy area behind the turnstiles. I am still missing the block out of the newspaper stand, gate, flyers on the walls, the vent, and the wires on top.

Thanks for taking a look!
Going back to working on it now.

Replies

• THEONLYraider
    Options
    Offline / Send Message