Home Technical Talk

Polypaint to Low Poly

convolution223
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
convolution223 polycounter lvl 6
Hello, I'm new to zbrush and I'm making my first character. I have a low-poly version of her made in 3d-Coat that I retopologized by hand and a high-poly, polypainted version from zbrush. As far as I know, what I should do now is UV unwrap the low-poly and then take them both into maya and set up the low-poly as a cage and then take them both into xNormal to get the normal map, but I'm wondering what to do about the polypaint. Will it transfer to the low-poly during the xnormal process? Or do I have to export it as a texture, but if that's the case, the UV's would be wildly different from the low-poly version (i haven't unwrapped the high-poly).

Essentially, I'm bent out of shape with anxiety over this whole process and I want to know I'm doing this right.

And one more thing, since it's a game character for Unreal, do I convert to tri's after all this or do I convert to tri's on both (high and low-poly) before taking them in to xnormal.

Thanks and sorry if I'm just overthinking this.

Replies

• Lilacwine
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lilacwine polycounter lvl 9
    You can bring your low-poly model into zbrush and use the project functions to project the polypaint from the high-res model onto the low-poly, which will keep the UVs.

You would have to subdivide your low-poly a lot so it can retain the polypaint data, then project from the hi-poly to the subdivided low-poly with UVs, you can then export the polypainted texture.

I'm not sure if this is the best way of doing this, I'm a bit of a novice but this has worked for me before when tinkering with stuff in zBrush.
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    You can bake a diffuse map just like you bake a normal map. :)
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator