Home General Discussion

Recommend me a modelling app

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    I actually quite like this thread. Since you already have a lot modeling experience and (understandably) high expectations, I think that great suggestions can come out of it. And I think I understand your frustrations :)

Now of course a lot of the suggestions being made in this thread will be strongly biased, since people who mostly used one application for years are bound to praise it over the other ones despite glaring weaknesses. I'll try to share my 2c and be as objective as possible. Note that I cannot make any comment about scripting, APIs and tools authoring, as I am not a programmer.

- First of all, I agree with your opinion about Maya as far as modeling goes. I actually quite like the program when it comes to the way it structured and exposed, but indeed things like the implementation of the recent "modeling toolkit" are just nonsensical. Now of course these NEX interactive tools are great ... but the fact that they rely on yet another panel to be turned on or off in order to step in and out of this special mode is just not acceptable. Adding to that the way that Maya can be very finicky at times when it comes to selection (like, allowing one to hit and select an object while effectively working at the vertex level of another one), I just cannot recommend it and understand your issues with it. The *only* instance where I found it to be elegant and powerful is when I saw Rich Diamant use Maya with his own modeling tool, which he wrote from scratch over the years and tailored precisely to his needs. All other modeling demos I have seen, even by highly regarded professional modelers who swear by the app, were very underwhelming and painful to watch.