Home Unreal Engine

built lighting in UDK looks like total garbage.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Count Vader polycounter lvl 12
Hey, so I'm still new to UDK and trying to figure out how to get my scenes in it to look good. First, here is a shot of a segment of my scene pre-lighting built (both examples are lit by two point lights with fairly default settings + Lightmass)

wTKvKbw.jpg

Nothing Earth shattering, but aside the lack of shadowing/AO between different meshes, it looks pretty close to how I want it. The spec is nice and subtle, there's no ugly seams between symmetrical objects and just generally everything reacts to the lighting well. That was easy!! Now, I guess it's just time to built lighting to add some shadows/bounces/AO and be done with it:

ba4jAA2.jpg

AAAAAAAAAAANNNNDD It looks like total shit! Ugly Seams everywhere despite ensuring that they were all one chunk on the lightmap, my spec power settings seem to be getting totally ignored with everything getting flooded by light, the highlight on the topmost construction beam is horizontally prolonged and hideous as if the normals have been flipped despite it looking totally fine pre-built.

So I guess my first question is, why the drastic difference between the real-time viewport and post-build version? I'm not a very technical person but wouldnt it make sense for UDK do resolve the texture information/lightmaps similarly pre-and-post lighting build? Instead of this huge night-and-day difference?

Second question, is obviously, why does it look so awful. I followed all the guidelines for making proper lightmaps, btw. Is this just accepted in UDK as a thing that happens? If so, can someone recommend a game engine/editor that doesn't make all my hard modelling/baking/texturing work look so shitty?? :p

Replies

• mAlkAv!An
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mAlkAv!An polycounter lvl 5