Home General Discussion

Game Engine, Does it Matter?

Hi All,

I am new in Game Development, I am currently taking a course currently that I only recently started, anyway. My question is if I do the game art, assets, and animations, etc (the visual stuff), Does it matter what game engine I choose to use?

I am aware that any game engine can do anything with the right skill set, however I am interested what makes a game engine good from a Game designer, artist, etc point of view. Not the programmers point of view

Sorry if this is a weird question or hard to understand.

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    Uzhi wrote: »
    I am aware that any game engine can do anything with the right skill set, however I am interested what makes a game engine good from a Game designer, artist, etc point of view. Not the programmers point of view

- toolset simple to pick up and use, mimicks the studio's art package wherever possible (selection, navigation, etc).
    - straightforward and quick asset import process
    - assets get stored in a open format that can be accessed and processed by external applications if needed
    - doesn't crash every 5 minutes

there, that should erase about 95 % of candidates from your list right away. ;)
  • Mik2121
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mik2121 polycounter lvl 9
    As thomasp said, his list erases almost everything except for Unity, lol.

You will also want an engine that's obviously intuitive and lets artists do the most they can (shaders, etc...) so programmers can get busy with other stuff. Unity doesn't do it unless you add some node-based shader plugin.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    besides Unreal, how many engines come with tools that let the artist make their own shaders? Isn't that a programmer's nightmare?
  • aleksdigital
    Options
    Offline / Send Message