Home General Discussion

internship advice / portfolio review

Hi guys, I am a Belgian student in game art and design. I’m in my third bachelor year and looking for an internship (regarding 3d modeling). This internship I’d like to do in the UK and preferably in London (or near it). This to improve my English since I plan on moving to the UK or the USA when I get older. I have also given France a thought, but my French is at a lower level than my English. I’ve been looking around but I haven’t actually found any companies that have any internships open. So I just started contacting them and asking whether or not I could do an internship there. So far, I’ve send mails (with cover letters and a cv) to Traveller’s Tales, Splash Damage, Rebellion and colossal games. Except from auto generated mails, I haven’t got any replies.
By the way, this internship has to be from March 10, 2014 till June 6, 2014, so for a duration of 3 months.

I wanted to ask how I should really go about this, should I spam them with mails and phone calls ?
Because I feel like that would be too importunate and maybe even rude.
I definitely plan on contacting more companies but if any of you know a company that has internships open, I’d be more than happy to hear about it.

Below I’ve added a link to my portfolio so you guys (and ladies) can criticize it. I know my 3d models are far from perfect and my rendering skills even further but I’d appreciate it if you took the time to review my portfolio and give some critique on how to improve my work.

Portfolio: http://tomramakers.daportfolio.com/

Thank you for your time and sorry for any bad written English.

Replies

• Popol
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    Please don't change the color of the font to black, it's almost impossible to read.
  • Popol
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    And to answer your question :

- Don't neglect small studio