Home Unreal Engine

Bounding box help!!

Okay so I'm new to UDK editor and I'm trying to find out how to take my custom model of a house okay, and after importing it into UDK editor..make t so you can walk through the door and go up the stairs without falling through or walking through the mesh. I know about bounding boxes but when i make one it makes a box around the whole house and you cant walk through the door.

Thank you very much

-Matt

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    what you are looking for is called collision.
    http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/FBXStaticMeshPipeline.html#Collision
    You can use meshes for this, or you can use the builder brush too.
  • BNielsen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    One thing to keep in mind. You can have multiple objects so long as they are properly named *_001, *_002, etc.
    But they CANNOT be concave - i.e. 1/4 moon shapes dont work, You'd have to make multiple objects that as a whole, would create the curve. (such as 4 boxes)

When in doubt: Begin with base shapes.
    As soon as you start to edit them, you can create concave shapes - like if you extrude 2 adjacent faces of a cube, or anything of that sort... You run into issues.
    Also mind polycount - High poly does hurt performance. - so Cube>Cylinder>Sphere

So for a house - each wall will be its own cube, the door - its own cube, the stairs, I would recommend having at least 8 polies on it(scale a cube, put the collision box through the floor. merging verts can act a little funny, and jam the player under it and things of the sort.

Also: From personal experience, I find that a box has to be at least 8 unreal units (like, for your second story floor, don't try to make it 1 unit thick, it fails often, and 8 units is still very small anyhow)
  • McGreed
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    McGreed polycounter lvl 15