Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted Grass try 01

Hey everyone! Just trying out something I've never tried to hand-paint before...grass haha! I maaaay have gone a bit overboard with it. However, any suggestions would be most welcome! I will be starting to post a LOT of handpainted textures-as this semester I'm working on a ton!
Thanks!
anya

Replies

• whiketan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whiketan polycounter lvl 3
    Could use a little bit more contrast IMO. Otherwise its pretty good, though I'm not an expert in any sense of the word, so think what you will.
  • Anya Starr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Contrast as in having more dark areas intermixed?? Or do you mean the sharpness of the lines? Because I could see both!! XD
  • Havoc89
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Havoc89 polycounter lvl 11
    If anything I would say less contrast. I've worked on a few stylized projects, and the last thing you want is for textures to stand out and grab too much attention. Generally most hand painted textures that are environment related should be fairly low contrast. I find it is best to avoid harsh shadows and bright highlights. Keep your levels with in a mid-tone range, as that will keep it subtle but detailed, and more importantly will not be distracting to the eye.