Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

GunBoat - back to modelling [ WIP ]

This project changed a lot, don't know if I should post a new thread. Anyways my plan was to make boat model and finish it. And then maybe use it in some game. (I need something finished to portfolio). But before I finished model I started coding also. My initial plan was some kind of RTS/RGB hybrid. But I made boat too detailed and when I coded boat moving scripts I found out that it was fun to drive:

UNITY WEBPLAYER DEMO

CONTROLS:
Arrows or WASD to move boat | Right mouse to move camera | scroll wheel to zoom.

Towing:
1. Install tow line by clicking tow reel in back of the boat and drag line to Iceberg.
2. Remove line by clicking tow reel again.

Anyways I will keep this thread up here because I already got some good advice. I try to keep this more art related, I have thread in unity forums where I have more code/ unity specific things.
[ unity forum thread ]

2TvRyNI.png
screenshot with 5 min "logo". ( wanted to write name down, don't know if good typeface)

OLD POST
>

Hi

I have been modelling now and then over ten years, but never have had enough patience to really finish a model. Get everything done and polished. I saw that my favorite 3D software Modo has released new version, so I downloaded the 701 trial and try to get this GunBoat ready before trial ends. So decided to post here to keep up motivation.

// Latest:
Unity webpPlayer demo.
Left click to move boat | space + left click to move camera

yBdw43C.png

// Bonus: Every ship needs a captain and crew:

8HrtNoJ.png

// orginal post >>>

Renders:
1Vrpdf3.png
M2nH5sw.png

Trying to achieve semi-realistic cartoon style, like in Dishonored or in borderlands. Any tips? (except skills, talent and hard work).

Wire:
kmz9Oyw.png