Home General Discussion

The problem with the gaming industry is that developers make too much

Replies

• Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I have no direct experience with Steam Greenlight but, in principle, I like its democratic approach to filtering out the dredge.

"Steam Greenlight is a system that enlists the community's help in picking some of the new games to be released on Steam. Developers post information, screenshots, and video for their game and seek a critical mass of community support in order to get selected for distribution. Steam Greenlight also helps developers get feedback from potential customers and start creating an active community around their game during the development process."

It does essentially turn it into a popularity contest though. And one unforuntate side effect is, if I'm a budding game designer and I want to get my (albeit not so great) games out there and in front of as many people as possible I so I can make a little money and get lots of feedback through reviews, I now have a huge barrier to break through to do so. The alternative is to post your game in a site like IndieDB and hope that a couple dozen people check it out and take the time to give you some feedback.
    I agree, it's a trade-off. It gives you a chance to prove yourself to your customers rather than a gatekeeper but it's not particularly well suited for games that don't seem very interesting until you play them.

A question I like to ask myself is whether or not MineCraft could have survived Steam's greenlight process if it were released today without its bizarre sort of grassroots audience development and word of mouth marketing. I'm not so sure it would have.

The industry is still largely figuring this shit out and I'm optimistic about Steam because Newell has mentioned that he thinks Greenlight is a bad example of an electoral process so I'm hoping they can improve on it.