Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Project X

Hello.
I am a university student who has just finished the second year in computer game modeling and animation.

With the university work off my back, I decided it would be wise to spend this summer learning new skills and finding a direction for the third year.

I am mainly interested in vehicles, rigging and characters. Science fiction to give it a nudge and I am exited.

Starting off I decided to make a character base. Then giving her some clothes, rig her and then move on to vehicles. My thinking being that the character would be perfect to actually use with the rigged vehicle in a final animation to show everything.

To start on the character base mesh, I first took a look at these 2 posts.

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=98115
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=98206

I wanted to make a female with heroic proportions from the comic books.
This will be my third time making a character. I have made 2 previous ones that were not amazing but good practice.

After spending some time checking those 2 posts and gathering reference from posemaniacs, I went and drew up my reference picture in photoshop. She will be wearing some heels, so I figured that I'll draw them in right away. She is about 7,5 heads tall and quite far from reality, but pleasing to the eye.

L0dZvSd.jpg

With my image planes set up I spent a good 3 days working on the base mesh starting with the torso. Modeling half the mesh and mirroring it across technique. Since I am far from the point where I know what I am doing, it took me a whole day of going over every detail to get things looking presentable.

Dntvynm.jpg

For the body I largely followed Katia's work and gave it my own twist. The ass gave me a good bit of headache and I just messed about until I got something that looked good to my eye. The head and breasts were made following a blender tutorial by Jonathan Williamson.

s0zt29U.jpg