Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Models for my SciFi Game

Prodigga
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Prodigga polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys, just going to use this thread as a dump for any 3d assets that I develop for my current game.

The game has no name at the moment. I can give you an idea as to how it'll look and play by telling you that it is similar to Sim City, but in space :)

I have been programming away for days, trying to create a path-finding system that meets my needs for this type of game (only just scratching the surface!). I figured I could take my mind off things by doing some art. I am not very good at traditional art (drawing, painting) so my texturing is not the greatest but I am fairly happy with my modelling. It is all self though (I studied as a games programmer) so any tips will be appreciated!

This first one is what I refer to as a Surgelane (Think Tradelane if you have had the pleasure of playing Freelancer before) It is a building that creates a high-speed travel corridor between 2 points. You can only enter the corridor from either one of these nodes as these nodes are what accelerate the ships. The design takes heavy inspiration from Terran buildings (From Starcraft). Bellow is a picture of one-half of the node.
C6Wu0.png
You can click here to play around with a turntable version, ingame. Left and Right click to rotate model. Middle mouse to rotate camera and scroll to zoom.

I have rendered the Ambient Occlusion and have applied that as the diffuse. (first time baking maps, it seems pretty easy). I am also using an emission map for the lights. The lights will turn green when the node is active, and red when it has been de-activated. The node can be de-activated if it is sabotaged by pirate raiders (who may be trying to raid space merchants that are using the Surgelanes). I feel the particle effects are really weak, and I will look for a better alternative after I texture.

Replies

• Prodigga
    Options