Home Unreal Engine

UDK Noob - Dynamic lighting problems :( Please help

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Arthur Ramazanov polycounter lvl 12
Hello, please bare with me as I am a noob at UDK.

I was under the impression that you don't need a light map in order to have dynamic shadows.

When I select the light - I see a shadow but when Unselect it I lose the shadow -

When I build lights the shadow gets less dark and yet only visible if I have the light selected

I have - Cast Shadows - Cast Dynamic Shadows - Cast static Shadows - Cast Composite shadows - enabled

1.JPG

Selected

2.JPG

Deselected

3.JPG

build lighting - and selected

This is confusing me - please help :)

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Use Moveable or Toggleable lights to always display the shadows.

Also, do the standard lights 'break' in the Editor or even after you compiled the scene? UDK had a bug (it should be fixed by now) where normal lights didn't work in the Editor, but did in the final scene.
  • Kon Artist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kon Artist polycounter lvl 8
    The dark shadows is what it looks like when you have broken lighting. If you want hard dark shadows like that in the final build you need to change your light mass setting under world properties.

Default light mass settings has 3 bounces. If you turn it off it will look like that... but it will not bounce through translucent surfaces(if I remember right)... putting 'NUM indirect lighting bounces' at zero does the trick.

Also, if you go into your static mesh editor, you can change the light map resolution to something like 256+(default is 32), if you find that your shadows are becoming blurry and washout after building all.
  • Arthur Ramazanov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you both - I'll give that a try
  • Arthur Ramazanov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Still didn't seem to stick - It is strange -